Motor Vehicle Registration

Motor Vehicle Registration

Automobile registration for Brunswick residents requires payment of an excise tax to the Town (if the vehicle is kept here) and a registration fee to the State of Maine. Because the Town of Brunswick is a full registration agent for the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), most first-time registrations and re-registrations can be processed by the Town, eliminating the need for a separate transaction with the BMV.

First-Time Registrations
The first time you register a motor vehicle in Brunswick (even if it has been registered here or elsewhere by a previous owner), you must register in person at the Town of Brunswick Municipal Building. If purchased from a dealer or through a private sale, the following documents are required for registration:

  • Dealer Invoice or Bill of Sale
  • Manufacturer’s Window Sticker (if vehicle is new)
  • Maine Sales Tax Form
  • Maine Title Application
  • Proof of Insurance (valid insurance card)
  • Vehicle Mileage from Odometer Reading
  • Current Registration (if transferring plates from your current vehicle)
  • Previous Owner’s Title and Lien Release (if purchased in private sale)

If the vehicle is purchased or acquired from an estate, additional documentation is required. Please call ahead for details.

If the vehicle was previously registered in another state, the following documents are required:

  • Title from state where last registered
  • Registration from state where last registered
  • Proof of Insurance meeting requirements of Maine law
  • Vehicle mileage from odometer reading

Re-registrations
Re-registrations may be completed in person at the Finance Department office, by mail, or online through Rapid Renewal.

Requirements for Re-Registration:

  • Current registration
  • Proof of insurance (valid insurance card)
  • Vehicle mileage from odometer reading

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax
Unless exempt, Brunswick residents are required to pay an excise tax in order to register a vehicle. The amount of the tax is based on the manufacturer’s suggested retail price (list price) when new, and the current age of the vehicle – $24.00 dollars per thousand on the list price for the first or current year of model, $17.50 per thousand for the second year, $13.50 per thousand for the third year, $10 per thousand for the fourth year, $6.50 per thousand for the fifth year and $4.00 per thousand for the sixth and succeeding years. The minimum excise tax on a motor vehicle is $5.00. Excise tax is retained by the Town and may be appropriated for any purpose for which the Town may appropriate money.