Brunswick Police Department

** We’re hiring!  Click here for information on current openings, including a $5,000 signing bonus for currently certified police officers.**

We’re looking for some new members to join our team at the Brunswick Police Department. Whether you are looking for a new career or a new place to continue your career, we’d like to talk to you. We currently have a hiring process for both new officers and officers presently certified by the Maine Criminal Justice Academy (with a $5,000 signing bonus for the latter).

A career in law enforcement requires sacrifices but also offers tremendous rewards. You help people at times when no one else can and make a difference in their lives. You will play a role in stopping the abuse of a battered spouse, the sexual assault of a child or taking a drunk driver off the road.   Every shift is different and the best fiction writer cannot dream up some of the situations in which you will be involved.

While everyone starts on patrol, the Brunswick Police Department also offers opportunities to further your career in various specialties – criminal investigations, school resource officers, drug enforcement, marine resource enforcement, a special response team, accident reconstruction and instructor opportunities, to name a few. We are committed to the constant training of our officers and provide training well beyond the state mandated requirements. Each annual training cycle includes simunitions, emergency vehicle operations, defensive tactics, two 4-hour firearms trainings and various legal updates. We also send our officers to off-site trainings to further their career development. Evidencing the career development, four current Maine police chiefs are retired Brunswick  officers.

In 2013, we moved into our new police station, it has state of the art interview rooms, large lockers and ample meeting and training spaces. Our communications center provides services to Brunswick and Freeport.

If you would like to know more about our department and its opportunities to serve the citizens of Brunswick – or even just come in for a “ride-a-long”, please contact me at rrizzo@brunswickpd.org or (207) 721-4317.  Here’s a link to our hiring brochure.

Richard J. Rizzo
Chief of Police

Contact Us

Emergency: 9-1-1
Non-Emergency: (207) 725-5521
Fax: (207) 725-6627

Announcement Phone Lines

Crime Tips: (207) 725-5521 extension 2
Parking Ban Line: (207) 721-4306
Shellfish Closures: (207) 725-5521 extension 2



Email Addresses

Police Chief Richard J. Rizzo

Commander of Patrol Tom Garrepy

Commander of Support Services Mark M. Waltz

Administrative Secretary Tammy Trufant

Lieutenant Todd Ridlon
Lieutenant Lynne Doucette
Lieutenant  Paul Hansen

Sergeant Jonathan OConnor
Sergeant Ed Yurek
Sergeant Justin Dolci

Officer Patrick Mahar
Officer Matthew Nicholson
Officer Chris Balestra
Officer Brian Funke
Officer Rich Cutliffe

Officer Patrick Scott
Officer Joshua Bernier
Officer James Fisher
Officer Garett Decker
Officer Chris Wolongevicz
Officer Kerry Wolongevicz
Officer Whitney Burns
Officer Nicholas Bedard
Officer Brandon Curtis
Officer Charles Tompson
Officer Corey Iles

Marine Warden Dan Devereaux
Marine Warden Dan Sylvain

Animal Control Officer – Position not filled

Parking Enforcement Officer Holly Warner

Det. Lieutenant Martin Rinaldi
Det. Sgt. Greg Mears

Detective William Moir
Detective Jerod Verrill
School Resource Officer Thomas Stanton
School Resource Officer John Roma

Communications Supervisor Sonia Moeller
Communications Officer Mike Carter
Communications Officer Joseph Westrich
Communications Officer Arthur Frizzle
Communications Officer Brian Gregoire
Communications Officer Natasha Russell
Communications Officer  Rebecca Blier-Carter
Communications Officer Kurt Nielsen
Communications Officer Arwyn Sherman
Communications Officer Darcie Moore

Bookkeeper Judy Bean