Licenses

Licenses

The Town Clerk’s Office issues licenses for businesses, chickens, domesticated farm animals, dogs, hunting and fishing, marriage, and shellfish harvesting. Click a link to jump to information about a particular type of license:

Business | Chicken & Farm Animal | Dog | Hunting and Fishing | Liquor | Marriage | Shellfish

Business Licenses

The Town of Brunswick issues many different types of Business Licenses:

  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Bazaar or Flea Market
  • Bowling Alleys, Billiards
  • Carnival or Circus
  • Commercial Waste Haulers
  • Food Service
  • Going Out of Business
  • Innkeepers
  • Junkyard/Auto Recycling/Auto Graveyard
  • Pawnbroker
  • Pinball Machines/Amusement Devices
  • Sellers of Prepared Food on Public Way
  • Second Hand Dealers
  • Special Amusement
  • Tattooing Establishment
  • Taxicabs/Taxi Drivers
  • Theater (Movie)

For more information on these licenses, please refer to the Brunswick Business License Ordinance.

Brunswick Business License Application
Temporary Food License Application
Application for Sole Proprietor
Special Amusement Licenses Application

Click here for more information on doing business in Maine.

Chicken and Farm Animal Licenses

There are restrictions on owning chickens and domesticated farm animals within the Town’s growth zone areas and a license is required.
Domesticated Chicken Ordinance
Application for Domesticated Chicken License
Domesticated Farm Animals in growth zone
Application for Domesticated Farm Animal License

For more information contact the Town Clerks’ office at 725-6658 or email the Animal Control Officer.

Back to top

Dog Licenses

All dogs over the age of six months are required to be licensed each year in the town where they reside. You must provide a valid rabies certificate, along with proof of neutering or spaying.

New dogs need to be licensed at 6 months of age or within ten days of the dog having moved to Brunswick.

Your current year’s license expires on December 31st. Licenses for next year are available beginning October 15th. You may license your dog through the mail by providing a current rabies certificate, a stamped self-addressed envelope, and a check made payable to the Town of Brunswick.

FEES:
Male/Female $11.00 or Neutered/Spayed $6.00
Late fee after January 31 is an additional $25.00 per dog
If you have questions, the Animal Control Officer can be reached through the Police Department’s Non-Emergency Phone Number: 725-6621.

Town Ordinance Regarding Animals (Chapter 4)
State Law For Dog Licenses

Hunting and Fishing Licenses

State of Maine licenses can be purchased at the Town Clerk’s office. Lifetime licenses may only be acquired through the State of Maine.

Note regarding Saltwater Fishing: Purchasing a State of Maine Inland Fishing License includes registration in the Saltwater Fishing Registry, or you may purchase a saltwater license only.

Requirements for Licenses and other information, including the ability to purchase Maine Hunting and Fishing Licenses online, is available on the State of Maine Website, Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife

Back to top

Liquor Licenses

Liquor licenses are issued by the State of Maine, subsequent to being approved by the municipality. Please call the Town Clerk’s office at 725-6658 for more information.   Please note that establishments with liquor licenses that also provide live entertainment require a Special Amusement license; refer to Chapter 10, Article IV of the Code of Ordinances (page 14 of this pdf).

Marriage Licenses

Residents of the State of Maine must record notice of their intentions to marry in the office of the clerk of the municipality in which at least one of them resides. If only one of the parties resides in Maine, the parties must record notice of their intentions to marry in the office of the clerk of the municipality in which the resident party resides. Once the intentions are filed and the license is issued, the parties are free to marry anywhere within the State of Maine. The license is valid for a period of 90 days from the date the intentions are filed.

Out-of-State Residents wishing to marry in Maine may file their intentions to marry in any Maine municipality’s Office of the Clerk. Once the intentions are filed and the license is issued, the parties are free to marry anywhere within the State of Maine. The license is valid for a period of 90 days from the date the intentions are filed.

When applying for your marriage license, please allow approximately up to 1 hour to complete the application process. We recommend that all Brunswick applicants come to Town Hall one hour before closing  to allow enough time to complete the process during normal business hours.

Proof of identity, e.g. driver’s license, passport, state I.D. must be provided to the clerk at the time of filing. No blood tests are required, and there is no waiting period.

The filing fee is $40.00.

If either party has been previously married, a certified copy of the death or divorce decree, whichever ended the previous marriage, must be presented to the clerk where the intentions of marriage are filed. The certified copy must be presented to the clerk at the time of the processing of the marriage license.

  • A certified copy of a divorce decree may be obtained from the clerk of courts where the divorce was filed. The clerk of courts will certify the document using an embossed seal. Photocopies are not accepted.
  • A certified copy of a death certificate may be obtained from the clerk in the town/city of death or at the State vitals office. The clerk will certify the document using an embossed seal. Photocopies are not accepted.

Back to top

Shellfish Licenses

The Town of Brunswick issues both commercial and recreational shellfish licenses to Brunswick residents and non-residents.

Brunswick Shellfish Ordinance

Recreational Shellfish Licenses are available to residents and nonresidents. The license is good for a one-year period beginning the first Monday in April. The resident license cost is $50.00, but free for those 62 years of age and older. The cost for a non-resident shellfish license is $75, but free for those 62 years of age and older.

Applicants must appear in person to fill out an application. Note that the number of available licenses is set annually; non-resident licenses are issued at a rate of one for every ten sold to residents, and the non-resident must get on a waiting list by applying in person at the Town Clerk’s office.

Commercial Licenses require a Letter of Intent Application; for more information on the commercial license process, please contact our office at 725-6658.

Resident Commercial Shellfish Application
Non-Resident Commercial Shellfish Application
Student Resident Student Application
Nonresident Student Application

Back to top