COVID-19 Registration Services

For the safety and security of the public and our staff, we are only processing newly purchased vehicle registrations at this time. These registrations include vehicles purchased at a dealer or via private sale. If you have registered your vehicle in Brunswick before, we ask that you use the State of Maine Rapid Renewal service to reregister your vehicle at this time. 

Please visit our COVID-19 Registration Services webpage for types of registrations we are able to offer at this time. We will continue to update the webpage as registration services expand.


Motor Vehicle Registration

Please Note

Effective July 1, 2015, the Town of Brunswick discontinued mailing automobile re-registration-by-mail notices. Brunswick citizens may re-register vehicles online at InforME, through the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. InforME also offers an email reminder service. Access the online services via Rapid Renewal.

Fees

Automobile registration for Brunswick residents requires payment of an excise tax to the Town (if the vehicle is kept here) and a registration fee to the State of Maine. Because the Town of Brunswick is a full registration agent for the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), most first-time registrations and re-registrations can be processed by the Town, eliminating the need for a separate transaction with the BMV.

First-Time Registrations

The first time you register a motor vehicle in Brunswick (even if it has been registered here or elsewhere by a previous owner), you must register in person at the Tax Office in the Town of Brunswick Municipal Building. 

Dealer/Private Sale

If purchased from a dealer or through a private sale, the following documents are required for registration:

  • Current Registration (if Transferring Plates from Your Current Vehicle)
  • Dealer Invoice or Bill of Sale
  • Maine Sales Tax Form
  • Maine Title Application
  • Manufacturer’s Window Sticker (if Vehicle Is New)
  • Previous Owner’s Title and Lien Release (if Purchased in Private Sale)
  • Proof of Insurance (Valid Insurance Card)
  • Vehicle Mileage from Odometer Reading

If the vehicle is purchased or acquired from an estate, additional documentation is required. Please call 207-725-6657 ahead for details.

Previously Registered in Another State

If the vehicle was previously registered in another state, the following documents are required:

  • Lienholder/Loan Documents (if Applicable)
  • Proof of Insurance Meeting Requirements of Maine Law
  • Registration from State Where Last Registered
  • Title from State Where Last Registered
  • Vehicle Mileage from Odometer Reading

Re-Registrations

Re-registrations may be completed in person at the Tax Office, by mail, or online through Rapid Renewal.

Requirements for Re-Registration

  • Current registration
  • Proof of insurance (valid insurance card)
  • Vehicle mileage from odometer reading

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

Unless exempt, Brunswick residents are required to pay an excise tax in order to register a vehicle. The amount of the tax is based on the manufacturer’s suggested retail price (list price) when new, and the current age of the vehicle:

  • $24 dollars per thousand on the list price for the first or current year of model
  • $17.50 per thousand for the second year
  • $13.50 per thousand for the third year
  • $10 per thousand for the fourth year
  • $6.50 per thousand for the fifth year
  • $4 per thousand for the sixth and succeeding years

The minimum excise tax on a motor vehicle is $5. Excise tax is retained by the Town and may be appropriated for any purpose for which the Town may appropriate money.