Mare Brook Watershed Steering Committee


See Committee Responsibilities


The Committee shall be comprised of one (1) voting member appointed by each of the following entities, for a total of nine (9) members.

  • Brunswick Town Council;
  • Brunswick Planning Board;
  • Brunswick Conservation Commission;
  • Brunswick Marine Resources Committee;
  • Bowdoin College;
  • Midcoast Regional Redevelopment Authority (MRRA);
  • Brunswick Area Citizens for a Safe Environment (BACSE);
  • Brunswick-Topsham Land Trust (BTLT);
  • Cumberland County Soil and Water Conservation District (CCSWCD)

The expectation is that each member of the Committee shall represent the views of the Committee that selected the member to serve. Each member shall periodically report to, and obtain feedback and input from, the entity that appointed the Committee member.

Although committee membership is limited to the nine (9) members listed above, the Committee shall proactively engage with the groups, communities, and professionals it deems necessary in order to seek the broadest representation of views to assist the committee in meeting its responsibilities. The following entities are identified as resources: Maine Department of Environmental Protection; Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife; Maine Department of Marine Resources; Maine Department of Transportation, Casco Bay Estuary Partnership; and Friends of Casco Bay.


  • Sandy Stott
  • Marko Melendy
  • Catherine Ferdinand
  • David Page
  • Angela Twitchell
  • Dave Barney
  • Kristine Logan
  • Sam Morris
  • Steve Weems, Town Council Representative

Meeting Schedule

The committee shall meet quarterly and on an as needed basis.

Committee Responsibilities

The Committee is tasked with assisting staff with the implementation of the recommendations of the Mare Brook Watershed Plan. The Plan shall be implemented in phases and the Committee’s initial scope shall be limited to Phase 1 of the Plan, which called for the procurements of a Hydrologic and Hydraulic (H&H) study as well as the small-scale culvert improvements identified.

Committee Staff

Ashley Charleson, Environmental Planner

Trey Crews, Town Engineer

Annual Reporting

The Committee shall report on its activities to the Town Council, at least quarterly